WARNING: We do not support Internet Explorer. It is not secure and will not work correctly. Please come back using a newer web browser.

Tania Motschman , Member, CLSI

Tania Motschman , MS, MT(ASCP)SBB

Member, CLSI

Ms. Tania Motschman is a certified medical technologist and specialist in blood banking with more than 35 years’ experience in health care leadership. She is a graduate of the University of Kentucky, where she received her bachelor’s degree and the medical technology faculty award, and the University of Cincinnati, where she received a full academic scholarship and her master’s degree. Her work experience spans small hospital laboratory to large medical center, from laboratory generalist to blood bank specialist, diagnostic and research testing to clinical trials, and experience in a blood donor center, quality and regulatory units, commercial laboratories, and hospital administration. She is twice retired, first from Mayo Clinic following her 35-year career there, and then from LabCorp after eight years as the Quality Director/AVP with the National Office of Quality. While at LabCorp, she led their flagship laboratory that conducts more than 10 million laboratory tests monthly to their ISO 15189 accreditation. She is an accomplished author and presenter with more than 50 publications and providing more than 70 presentations at local, national, and international locations. 

Ms Motschman has held leadership positions in a number of professional organizations, including board of directors and president of the Minnesota Association of Blood Banks and chair of the AABB subcommittees on quality system accreditation and quality management standards.  As a senior member of the ASQ, she was privileged to co-author the publication A Hospital-based Quality Management System Model for Healthcare. For more than 30 years she performed assessments for the AABB and CAP. She has served in various roles on numerous CLSI committees and has been honored with the CLSI awards for excellence in mentoring and for standards development. She is currently the Charholder of the Consensus Council.