CLSI announces the election of three new Board members. Serving as new Directors are Collette Fitzgerald, PhD, Tania Motschman, MS, MT(ASCP)SBB, and Susan Sharp, PhD, D(ABMM), F(AAM).

WARNING: We do not support Internet Explorer. It is not secure and will not work correctly. Please come back using a newer web browser.

CLSI Announces New Members of Board of Directors


Malvern, PA—CLSI announces the election of three new Board members. Serving as new Directors are Collette Fitzgerald, PhD, Tania Motschman, MS, MT(ASCP)SBB, and Susan Sharp, PhD, D(ABMM), F(AAM).

Dr. Fitzgerald is the Deputy Director for Science in the Division of Laboratory Systems at Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). She began her career in microbiology 29 years ago at the Health Protection Agency in London. For the past 23 years, she has worked at the CDC, in Atlanta, GA. Eighteen of those years were spent working in the Enteric Diseases Laboratory Branch in the Division of Foodborne, Waterborne and Environmental Diseases, where she most recently served as Chief of the National Enteric Reference and Outbreak Laboratory Team. Dr. Fitzgerald is currently CDC’s ex-officio on the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Advisory Committee and has been a CLSI Consensus Council committee member since Nov 2019.

Ms. Motschman is a certified medical technologist and specialist in blood banking with more than 35 years’ experience in health care leadership. She is twice retired, first from Mayo Clinic following her 35-year career there, and then from LabCorp after eight years as the Quality Director/AVP with the National Office of Quality. Ms. Motschman has held leadership positions in several professional organizations, including on the Board of Directors and as President of the Minnesota Association of Blood Banks and chair of the AABB subcommittees on quality system accreditation and quality management standards. She has served in various roles on numerous CLSI committees and has been honored with the CLSI awards for excellence in mentoring and for standards development. She is currently the Chairholder of CLSI’s Consensus Council.

Dr. Sharp is the Scientific Director for Copan Diagnostics and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Pathology at Florida International University. She is a past-president of the American Society for Microbiology, a current member of the CLSI Microbiology Expert Panel and of the CLSI AST-Subcommittee, as well as several CLSI ad hoc working groups. She is a past member of the Board of Scientific Counselors for the Office of Infectious Diseases at the CDC and a past member of the Microbiology Resource Committee for the College of American Pathologists. She has given over 180 scientific presentations and authored over 80 published manuscripts, as well as 13 book chapters.

In addition to these new appointees, three Board members have been re-elected.  James H. Nichols, PhD, DABCC, FAACC continues to be CLSI’s Current President-Elect. Mr. Joseph Passarelli remains in the position of Secretary, and Gary W. Procop, MD, MS will continue serving as a Director.

A full list of the Board of Directors and their profiles can be found here.

For more information about CLSI’s Board of Directors, contact Joanne Christopher at  or +1.484.588.5907. 

About CLSI

CLSI sets the standard for quality in medical laboratory testing. A not-for-profit membership organization, CLSI brings together the global laboratory community for the advancement of a common cause: to foster excellence in laboratory medicine.   

For more than 50 years, our members, volunteers, and customers have made CLSI a respected, transformative leader in the development and implementation of medical laboratory testing standards. Through our unified efforts, we will continue to set and uphold the standards that drive quality test results, enhance patient care delivery, and improve health care around the world.   

By using CLSI standards, laboratorians can improve process quality, speed the development of standard operating procedures, and implement safer practices with greater ease and efficiency.


← Go Back