WARNING: We do not support Internet Explorer. It is not secure and will not work correctly. Please come back using a newer web browser.

CLSI Announces 2021 Board of Directors


Malvern, PA – The director of the Arizona State Public Health Laboratory and executive director for the Arizona Biomedical Research Center, Victor Waddell, PhD, has been named president of Clinical and Laboratory Standards Institute.

“After serving on the board for several years, Victor has shown the excellent leadership skills to position CLSI for the future,” said CLSI’s CEO, Glen Fine, MS, MBA, CAE. “Additionally, as a laboratory director during COVID-19, Victor understands the extraordinary challenges laboratories and staff members are facing today.”

Before being named CLSI president on January 1, 2021, Phoenix-based Dr. Waddell was CLSI’s president-elect. He has served on the CLSI Board of Directors since 2014. He also served as a member-at-large on the Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL) Board of Directors from 2006 to 2009, and as APHL president from 2011 to 2012.

“As laboratory directors and staff members, we face enormous obstacles with the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Dr. Waddell. “Still, I’m amazed at the dedicated CLSI volunteers who continue to work tirelessly to improve laboratory standards. I look forward to continuing to help CLSI set the standard in laboratory medicine for a healthier world.”

CLSI’s new president-elect is James H. Nichols, PhD, DABCC, FAACC, professor of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology, and medical director of Clinical Chemistry and Point-of-Care Testing at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, TN. He has served on the CLSI Board of Directors since 2014 and previously was an advisor, member, chairholder, and co-chairholder of the Evaluation Protocols Expert Panel and several CLSI document development committees.

Joining Dr. Waddell and Dr. Nichols on CLSI’s board are two new directors, Dr. Langman and Dr. Hayden. Loralie Langman, PhD, DABCC, FACB, F-ABFT is director of Clinical and Forensic Toxicology Laboratory, Clinical Mass Spectroscopy Laboratory, and a consultant for the Personalized Genomics Laboratory, Mayo Clinic Rochester, MN, and professor of Laboratory Medicine in Pathology, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine. Dr. Langman served as the vice-chairholder of the Expert Panel on Clinical Chemistry and Toxicology after serving on that committee for four years. She also is a charter member of CLSI’s Consensus Council.

Randall T. Hayden, MD is director of the Division of Clinical Pathology and Global Pathology, director of Clinical and Molecular Microbiology, and director of Pathology Informatics in the Department of Pathology at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, TN. Dr. Hayden is immediate past-president of the Pan-American Society for Clinical Virology (PASCV) and has worked in laboratory capacity building efforts worldwide, including work through the St. Jude Global Pathology Program and collaborative work with CLSI.

A full list of the 2021 Board of Directors and their profiles can be found here.

For more information about CLSI’s Board of Directors, contact Patrick McGinn at pmcginn@clsi.org or +1.484.588.5933. 

 About CLSI

CLSI sets the standard for quality in medical laboratory testing. A not-for-profit membership organization, CLSI brings together the global laboratory community for the advancement of a common cause: to foster excellence in laboratory medicine.   

For more than 50 years, our members, volunteers, and customers have made CLSI a respected, transformative leader in the development and implementation of medical laboratory testing standards. Through our unified efforts, we will continue to set and uphold the standards that drive quality test results, enhance patient care delivery, and improve health care around the world.   

By using CLSI standards, laboratorians can improve process quality, speed the development of standard operating procedures, and implement safer practices with greater ease and efficiency.


← Go Back